The best foundations for combination skin

foundation

 

When I go out looking for new foundation, I have three things that I’m searching for. One, natural full coverage; I know that seems like it’s impossible to have full coverage and for it to still look natural: it’s not. Two, I don’t want to feel like I have a mask on my face. This is a hard one, especially when you have combination skin. You want something that looks nice and soft without it being too matte or, in my case, oily around my hose and chin. Three: I don’t want it to smell horrible. This is extremely valid, considering you’re putting the foundation all around your nose(and in some cases blending it into the nose). So, here goes!

Georgio Armani: Designer Lift Foundation

Armani

This is my all time favorite foundation. It comes in 9 great shades, it color corrects your skin. It has SPF 20(which we all know we need to maintain good, healthy skin) and restores up to “10 years of luminosity” according to their campaign. Helps fill lines and also firms skin. This foundation definitely lives up to all of my expectations. It’s so soft and smooth and it literally makes your skin feel amazing. I also pair this with our next foundation. I pick this up at Nordstrom but you can also order it online for $65.

 

Georgio Armani’s Luminous Silk Foundation

Armani pressed

For those of you that like a lighter, powder option, this is incredible. Sometimes, if I’m feeling rushed or a tad lazy, I’ll just throw on a primer and a little of this powder. It covers nicely and looks very natural. If you’re going for a little more of a full coverage look, I tend to combine my liquid Designer Lift foundation with this. It gives me that flawless look that I’m going for. I keep this in my purse when I go out dancing for touch ups as well. You can buy it online or at Nordstrom for $47.

 

Maybelline Fit Me Foundation

fit me liquid

When they came out with the ads for this foundation a few years ago, I was instantly interested. They talked about how natural it would look and how they had so many shades, you were bound to find one to fit your skin perfectly. I think they were spot on. I LOVE this foundation. I’m not usually into many drug store cosmetics, but this one is an exception. This goes on smoothly and blends perfectly. The only problem that I’ve ever had with it is when I tried to go three shades lighter than my normal color(for winter and all). I would strongly suggest going a shade or two darker than what you actually are. It just doesn’t look that great because of the fact that it does go on a little lighter than a more full coverage liquid. You can pick this up at any drug stores for just under $8.

Maybelline Fit Me Pressed Powder

fit me powder

As I said before, I always set my liquid cosmetics with a powder. It makes it last ten times longer and it really gives me the look I’m going for. This powder is pretty great. It’s much lighter than the Armani podwer, but it’s also $40 cheaper. I never feel suffocated with this powder(even with the liquid under it). It’s very fresh feeling. You can also get this one at any drug store for a little under $8.

 

When you are using a powder, sometimes people worry about looking like everyone can see the powder all over their face. If you go out right after applying, sometimes that can be the case. I always like to spray a little toner or make up setting spray on my face right before I walk out. I use Aveda’s Skin Firming toner($20) or Sephoras setting spray($10). Just make sure that the nozzle doesn’t do a concentrated spray. Hold the spray bottle 8-10 inches away from your face.

I really hope this helps you on your search for a new foundation. Good luck!

1 thought on “The best foundations for combination skin

Leave a comment